Law Enforcement Academy
Alaska Police Standards Council Certification
The Law Enforcement Academy prepares students for a career in law enforcement in the state of Alaska. APSC certification will allow a qualified candidate to work as a commissioned officer in any of approximately 65 state and municipal law enforcement organizations.
The law enforcement academy is an intense semester of full-time study. Students attend class 40 hours per week for one semester. The certification is approved by the Alaska Police Standards Council in compliance with Title 13.85.050 of the Alaska Administrative Code. Courses are not offered separately but must be taken as part of the entire law enforcement academy package.
Special admission, licensing or certification requirements may apply to students in this program. Applicants should familiarize themselves with these and speak with a faculty advisor if they have any questions or concerns. Applicants must be 21 years old to be admitted.
Complete the following admissions requirement:
- Be at least 21 years old by the first day of the semester in which you are admitted.
Law Enforcement Certification by the Alaska Police Standards Council
Minimum Requirements for Certification: 16 credits
|LE F110||Cultural and Behavioral Strategies for Law Enforcement Officers||1|
|LE F115||Enforcement Skills for Law Enforcement Officers||3|
|LE F120||Law Enforcement Operations||4|
|LE F125||Basic Police Procedures||4|
|LE F205||Criminal Law for Police||4|