Academic Calendar 2016-2017

Fairbanks Campus Academic Calendar 2016-2017

For academic calendar information for UAF’s community campuses, contact the campuses directly or visit http://uaf.edu/uaf/about/campuses/.

View the 2015-2016 academic calendar.

FALL SEMESTER 2016

Fall 2016 course list available at UAOnline Monday, March 21
Begin registration and fee payment for degree students for fall 2016 semester Monday, April 4
Begin registration and fee payment for nondegree students for fall 2016 semester Monday, April 11
Deadline to apply for admission for fall semester (UA Scholars) Sunday, May 1
Deadline to apply for admission for fall semester (graduate students) Wednesday, June 1
Deadline to apply for admission for fall semester (undergraduate students) Wednesday, June 15
Residence halls open, 8 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 25
Orientation for new students Thursday-Sunday, Aug. 25-28
First day of instruction; late registration begins Monday, Aug. 29
Labor Day (offices closed — no classes, registration or fee payment) Monday, Sept. 5
Deadline for adding classes and late registration; 5 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Friday, Sept. 9
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated drops (course does not appear on academic record) Friday, Sept. 9
Deadline for tuition and fee payment; 5 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Monday, Sept. 12
Early progress reports due Sunday, Oct. 2
Deadline to apply for fall 2016 graduation Monday, Oct. 17
Spring 2017 course list available at UAOnline Monday, Oct. 31
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W grade appears on academic transcript) Friday, Nov. 4
Begin registration and fee payment for spring 2017 semester Monday, Nov. 14
Thanksgiving holiday (no classes, most offices closed) Thursday-Sunday, Nov. 24-27
Last day of instruction Saturday, Dec. 10
Final examinations Monday-Saturday, Dec. 12-17
Residence halls close, noon Sunday, Dec. 18
Deadline for faculty to post grades, noon Wednesday, Dec. 21
Winter holiday (no classes, most offices closed; reopen Wednesday, Jan. 4, at 8 a.m.) Saturday, Dec. 24-Tuesday, Jan. 3

WINTERMESTER AND SPRING SEMESTER 2017

Deadline to apply for admission for spring semester (international students) Thursday, Sept. 1
Deadline to apply for admission for spring semester (graduate students) Saturday, Oct. 15
Spring 2017 course list available at UAOnline Monday, Oct. 31
Deadline to apply for admission for spring semester (undergraduate students) Tuesday, Nov. 1
Begin registration and fee payment for degree students for spring 2017 semester and WINTERmester 2017 Monday, Nov. 14
Begin registration and fee payment for nondegree students for spring 2017 semester and WINTERmester 2017 Monday, Nov. 21
WINTERmester courses begin Wednesday, Jan. 4
Deadline for adding WINTERmester classes; 5 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Wednesday, Jan. 4
Deadline for WINTERmester tuition and fee payment and refunds; 5 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Wednesday, Jan. 4
Deadline for WINTERmester student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W grade appears on academic transcript) Monday, Jan. 9
Last day of WINTERmester instruction and finals Friday, Jan. 13
Residence halls open, 8 a.m. Sunday, Jan. 15
Orientation for new students Sunday, Jan. 15
Alaska Civil Rights Day (no classes, most offices closed) Monday, Jan. 16
First day of instruction; late registration begins Tuesday, Jan. 17
Deadline for faculty to post WINTERmester grades, noon Thursday, Jan. 19
Deadline for adding classes and late registration; 5 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Friday, Jan. 27
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated drops (course does not appear on academic record) Friday, Jan. 27
Last day for tuition and fee payment; 5 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Monday, Jan. 30
Deadline for UA Foundation and privately funded scholarship applications Wednesday, Feb. 15
Deadline to apply for spring 2017 graduation Wednesday, Feb. 15
Early progress reports due Sunday, Feb. 19
Spring break (no classes) Monday-Friday, March 13-17
University holiday (most offices closed for spring break) Friday, March 17
Fall 2017 course list available at UAOnline Monday, March 20
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W grade appears on academic transcript) Friday, March 31
Begin registration and fee payment for fall 2017 semester (degree students) Monday, April 3
Begin registration and fee payment for fall 2017 semester (nondegree students) Monday, April 10
SpringFest (no classes) Friday, April 21
Last day of instruction Monday, May 1
Final examinations Tuesday-Friday, May 2-5
Commencement Saturday, May 6
Residence halls close, noon Monday, May 8
Deadline for faculty to post grades, noon Wednesday, May 10

SUMMER SEMESTER 2017 

Summer 2017 course list available at UAOnline Wednesday, Feb. 1
Begin registration and fee payment for degree students for summer 2017 Monday, Feb. 20
Begin registration and fee payment for nondegree students for summer 2017 Monday, Feb. 27
Deadline to apply for admission for summer semester Monday, May 1
MAYmester courses begin; attendance required. Deadline to register for MAYmester, or for refund of tuition and fees for MAYmester Monday, May 8
Late payment fees begin for MAYmester Tuesday, May 9
Deadline for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals for MAYmester (W appears on academic transcript) Monday, May 15
Last day of MAYmester instruction Friday, May 19
First day of instruction for six-week session I and full session Monday, May 22
Deadline to register for six-week session I; attendance required on this day Wednesday, May 24
Deadline for refund of tuition and fees for six-week session I Wednesday, May 24
Late payment fees begin for six-week session I Thursday, May 25
Memorial Day (no classes, most offices closed) Monday, May 29
Deadline to register for full session; attendance required Tuesday, May 30
Deadline for refund of tuition and fees for full session Tuesday, May 30
Late payment fees begin for full session Wednesday, May 31
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W appears on academic transcript) for six-week session I Wednesday, June 14
Deadline to apply for summer 2017 graduation Thursday, June 15
Last day of instruction for six-week session I Friday, June 30
Independence Day holiday (no classes, most offices closed) Monday-Tuesday, July 3-4
First day of instruction for six-week session II Wednesday, July 5
Deadline to register for six-week session II; attendance required on this day Monday, July 10
Last day for refund of tuition and fees for six-week session II Monday, July 10
Last day for registration. Deadline for thesis and research credit payment (graduate students). Monday, July 10
Late payment fees begin for six-week session II Tuesday, July 11
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals for full session (W appears on academic transcript) Tuesday, July 11
Last day for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals for six-week session II (W appears on academic transcript) Wednesday, July 26
Last day of instruction for six-week session II and full session, including final exams Friday, Aug. 11
Deadline for faculty to post grades, noon Wednesday, Aug. 16